Preface

Posted: April 17, 2012 in Eclipse
Tags: , , , , ,

Reminder- You’ve got until next update (on the 25th) to put down numbers for the glower/murmur contest!

 

Not gonna lie, I wasn’t even able to make it past the first page of Eclipse without getting pissed off.

The main reason being that Meyer prefaces the whole goddamned fiasco with a Robert Frost poem in a thinly veiled attempt to bring some credulity to her work. Here’s the poem:

 

Fire and Ice

Some say the world will end in fire,

Some say in ice.

From what I’ve tasted of desire

I hold with those who favor fire.

But if it had to perish twice,

I think I know enough of hate

To say that for destruction ice

Is also great

And would suffice.

 

Robert Frost

 

Ohhh, that can’t possibly be a clever analogy for how Edward’s beautiful marble skin is like ice (even though it should be room temperature) and Jacob is hot like fire (even though he should have a nearly regular body temperature) !

Moving onward.

 

“All our attempts at subterfuge had been in vain.”

 

I don’t know why Meyer couldn’t have just used a simple word like “hiding” or “evasion” in place of “subterfuge” that would get the point across a million times clearer, but okay.

Here’s the deal: Bella is in mortal danger (again) and Edward is protecting her (again) while Bella romanticizes her death and prepares herself to die (again).

 

“Black eyes, wild with their fierce craving for my death, watched for the moment when my protector’s attention would be diverted. The moment when I would surely die.”

 

And then a wolf howls.

That’s it.

Not off to a good start, are we?

Comments
  1. Harika Mohan says:

    Oh, I’ve been waiting for Eclipse for a long time. I am so happy that you’ve finally posted it. Your reviews make my day.

  2. Harika Mohan says:

    Oh, I’ve been waiting for such a long time for Eclipse. I am happy that you’ve finally posted it. Your reviews make my day. Looking forward for chapter 1 🙂
    And by the way, Eclipse preface was the best way to disgrace the poems of, my favorite poet, Robert Frost. I hate Eclipse. I hate SMeyer.

  3. How many bonus points for credible author rape? She took down the Bible, Shakespear and now Frost. Also all of these are men. Is that a good thing?

  4. maya says:

    I need to add 1 Thesaurus rape from the peanut gallary for use of the word subterfuge

  5. loolypopgoop says:

    I love how the Twihards wait painstakingly for Stephanie Meyer’s books and the haters wait painstakingly for Kate to tear them apart.
    Really looking forward to the Eclipse reviews!

  6. IfByYes says:

    Stephenie Meyer should be schooled in the wise use of a thesaurus. Bigger words do not equal better. She should see the thesaurus related “Friends” episode for further proof.

  7. maya says:

    We need an author rape pronto. The Bible, Shakespear, and now Frost.

  8. cupcake2eater says:

    Do you know how many times I had to stop reading this shitty saga to look up words because I didn’t know they’re damn definition. Not only do Stephenie Meyer’s use of big words interrupt her writing, I’m pretty sure that the majority of Twihards have no idea what the meaning of those words are.

Leave a Reply

